The First Holden Beach Half

IMG_8154IMG_8155IMG_8162

The first ever Holden Beach Half Marathon began around 7am on November 1, 2014. The first mile consisted of running over the Holden Beach Bridge twice. Before I began, the mere thought of getting over that bridge made me extremely anxious (I have a fear of heights). I even joked about how I would end up falling to my knees and crawling my way over the bridge. Nevertheless, after I took the first photo my mind was at ease. The view was incredible and has made running over top of the Intracoastal Waterway my favorite part of the race (the ending being a VERY close second 😉 ). I ended up 10th place overall, and 3rd in my age category. I didn’t do nearly as well this past year, but it’s definitely my favorite new tradition.

Leave a Reply

